hide
show

WOMEN WIN THE VOTE


DATES AND FACTS


1874
Woman's Christian Temperance Union founded in Ontario.

1887
Women property owners can vote in municipal elections in Manitoba.

1890
Women property owners can vote in school board elections in Manitoba.

1893
Manitoba's Woman's Christian Temperance Union presents a petition for female suffrage.

1894
Manitoba Equal Suffrage Club is founded.

1901
One in six Canadian workers is a woman.

February 13, 1907
Manitoba revokes women's municipal franchise.

January 28, 1914
The Women's Parliament is staged at the Walker Theatre.

1915
Political Equality League submits a petition to government for female suffrage.

January 28, 1916
Manitoba gives women the right to vote provincially.

May 24, 1918
Canadian women win the right to vote in federal elections.

OTHER RESOURCES


Liberation deferred? The ideas of the English-Canadian Suffragists by Carol Lee Bacchi.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1983

In times like these by Nellie L. McClung. Toronto: McLeod & Allen, c1915.

The woman suffrage movement in Canada by Catherine L. Cleverdon.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1974.

MAPS


Manitoba 1926 [Rural Organizations]

Manitoba electoral maps1920


FOR EDUCATORS


Women win the vote
Page 4 of 6

Politics and corruption

The suffrage campaigners said that women were needed to clean up politics in Manitoba. To support this argument they could point to the rough-and-tumble manner in which political parties conducted themselves in Manitoba in the early twentieth century.

Each election was marred with accusations of corruption—at one point one party hired a private detective to spy on the leaders of the other parties. From 1900 to 1915, the master of the political scene in Manitoba was Conservative Premier Rodmond Roblin. A shrewd and capable leader, Roblin presided over one of the most successful, if at times corrupt, political machines in Manitoba's history. He fashioned an electoral coalition that included both the staunchly anti-Catholic Orange Order and the province's Roman Catholic voters. Rural voters were grateful to Roblin for his government's fight for improved rail service and the government-owned telephone and grain elevator system.

Roblin's decision to end voting restrictions on the voting rights of East Europeans, and to create a school to train Ukrainian-speaking public school teachers, won him the support of many recent immigrants. His demand that schools fly the Union Jack flag earned him the support of those Manitobans who traced their roots back to Great Britain.

These policies were accompanied by a brass-knuckle approach to political campaigns. In the 1910 provincial election it was reported that only seven of the nearly 90 candidates had not been called liars or crooks by their opponents. In an attempt to buy votes, alcohol was freely distributed on election day—another of the reasons why temperance campaigners wished to see alcohol banned. Civil servants were expected to help the Conservatives get out the vote on election days, and constituencies that did not vote for the winning party would be forced to do without new roads or improved government services until the next election.

Roblin resisted the temperance movement, pointing out that individual communities had the right to vote on whether they would allow the local sale of liquor. These local votes on whether to go “wet” or “dry” were often as fiercely fought as provincial elections. He was equally dismissive of proposals to grant women the vote.

Not surprisingly, a wide-ranging reform movement arose to challenge the Roblin government. Inspired by recent teachings of the Protestant churches, the reformers advocated temperance, women's suffrage, tax reform, an end to bilingual education, direct democracy through the use of referendums, and improved labour legislation. Through these political measures, the reformers sought to bring about a moral transformation of society.

Digital Resources on Manitoba History

hide
show

LES FEMMES OBTIENNENT LE VOTE


DATES ET FAITS


1874
Fondation de la Woman's Christian Temperance Union en Ontario.

1887
Les femmes propriétaires peuvent voter aux élections municipales au Manitoba.

1890
Les femmes propriétaires peuvent voter aux élections des commissions scolaires au Manitoba.

1893
La Woman's Christian Temperance Union du Manitoba présente une pétition réclamant le suffrage féminin.

1894
Fondation du Manitoba Equal Suffrage Club.

1901
Un travailleur sur six au Canada est une femme.

13 février 1907
Le Manitoba révoque le droit des femmes de voter aux élections municipales.

28 janvier 1914
Mise en  scène du « Parlement des femmes » au théâtre Walker.

1915
La Political Equality League présente une pétition au gouvernement réclamant le suffrage féminin.

28 janvier 1916
Le Manitoba donne aux femmes le droit de voter aux élections provinciales.

24 mai 1918
Les femmes canadiennes obtiennent le droit de voter aux élections fédérales.

AUTRES RESSOURCES


Le Docteur Amelia Yoemans. Winnipeg : Culture, Patrimoine et Loisirs Manitoba, c1985.

Le Canada, une histoire populaire : épisode 11B : 1er ex. : la grande transformation (1896 à 1915), deuxième partie (vidéocassette).
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, c2001.

Le Droit de vote des femmes (vidéocassette) / Nicole Messier.
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, 1990.

Citoyennes? : femmes,  droit de vote et démocratie / Diane Lamoureux.
Montréal : Éditions du Remue-ménage, 1989.

L’incroyable histoire de la lutte que quelques-unes ont menée pour obtenir le droit de vote pour toutes /  Jocelyne Beaulieu.
Outremont, Québec : VLB, 1990.

CARTES


Cartes électorales du Manitoba de 1920

Manitoba 1926 [ organisations rurales]


POUR LES ÉDUCATEURS


Les femmes obtiennent le vote
Page 4 de 6

Politique et corruption

Les suffragistes affirmaient que les femmes étaient nécessaires pour nettoyer la politique au Manitoba. Pour étayer cet argument, elles pouvaient invoquer la manière désordonnée dont les partis politiques se comportaient au Manitoba au début du vingtième siècle.

Chaque élection était entachée d'accusations de corruption; à un moment donné, un parti a même embauché un détective privé pour espionner les chefs des autres partis. De 1900 à 1915, le maître de la scène politique au Manitoba a été le premier ministre conservateur Rodmond Roblin. Chef astucieux et habile, Roblin a présidé une machine politique qui, bien que parfois corrompue, est une de celles qui ont connu le plus de succès de l'histoire du Manitoba. Il a créé une coalition électorale qui comprenait à la fois le farouchement anti-catholique Ordre d'Orange et les électeurs catholiques de la province. Les électeurs ruraux étaient reconnaissants à Roblin pour la lutte que son gouvernement avait menée pour améliorer le service ferroviaire et pour le réseau téléphonique public et le réseau de silos détenus par l'État.

La décision de Roblin de mettre fin aux restrictions au droit de vote des Européens de l'Est et d'ouvrir une école pour former des enseignants d'écoles publiques de langue ukrainienne lui a gagné l'appui de nombreux immigrants récents. Son exigence que les écoles arborent le drapeau Union Jack lui a valu l'appui des Manitobains dont les racines remontaient à la Grande-Bretagne.

Ces politiques étaient accompagnées par une approche coup-de-poing des campagnes politiques. On dit que dans l'élection provinciale de 1910, seuls sept des près de 90 candidats n'ont pas été qualifiés de menteurs ou d'escrocs par leurs concurrents. Dans une tentative d'acheter des votes, l'alcool coulait à flot le jour de l'élection, autre raison pour laquelle les partisans de la tempérance voulaient interdire l'alcool. On attendait des fonctionnaires qu'ils aident les conservateurs à convaincre leurs partisans d'aller voter le jour de l'élection et les circonscriptions qui ne votaient pas pour le parti victorieux devaient se passer de chemins neufs et de services gouvernementaux améliorés jusqu'à l'élection suivante.

Roblin a résisté au mouvement pour la tempérance, signalant que les collectivités individuelles avaient le droit de voter pour interdire la vente locale d'alcool. Ces votes locaux sur l'interdiction ou non de l'alcool dans la collectivité suscitaient souvent une lutte aussi acharnée qu'une élection provinciale. Roblin a fait tout aussi peu de cas des propositions qui visaient à donner le vote aux femmes.

Il n'est donc pas surprenant qu'un vaste mouvement de réforme se soit formé pour contester le gouvernement Roblin. Inspirés par les récents enseignements des Églises protestantes, les réformistes prônaient la tempérance, le suffrage des femmes, une réforme fiscale, la fin de l'éducation bilingue, la démocratie directe par l'emploi de référendums et l'amélioration de la législation du travail. Par ces mesures politiques, les réformistes voulaient amener une transformation morale de la société.

Ressources numériques sur l’histoire du Manitoba