hide
show

WOMEN WIN THE VOTE


DATES AND FACTS


1874
Woman's Christian Temperance Union founded in Ontario.

1887
Women property owners can vote in municipal elections in Manitoba.

1890
Women property owners can vote in school board elections in Manitoba.

1893
Manitoba's Woman's Christian Temperance Union presents a petition for female suffrage.

1894
Manitoba Equal Suffrage Club is founded.

1901
One in six Canadian workers is a woman.

February 13, 1907
Manitoba revokes women's municipal franchise.

January 28, 1914
The Women's Parliament is staged at the Walker Theatre.

1915
Political Equality League submits a petition to government for female suffrage.

January 28, 1916
Manitoba gives women the right to vote provincially.

May 24, 1918
Canadian women win the right to vote in federal elections.

OTHER RESOURCES


Liberation deferred? The ideas of the English-Canadian Suffragists by Carol Lee Bacchi.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1983

In times like these by Nellie L. McClung. Toronto: McLeod & Allen, c1915.

The woman suffrage movement in Canada by Catherine L. Cleverdon.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1974.

MAPS


Manitoba 1926 [Rural Organizations]

Manitoba electoral maps1920


FOR EDUCATORS


Women win the vote
Page 3 of 6

Temperance

In discussing the suffrage movement of the early twentieth century, historians often distinguish between feminists, who argued for the vote because they believed in equality between the sexes, and reformers who thought women should have the vote because they believed that women were more likely than men to support needed social reforms. It is sometimes argued that the movement for women's votes in Canada was started by feminists who were challenging the division of labour and responsibility between the sexes. This movement was swamped and taken over by those who sought to strengthen social institutions, including the family, by giving women the vote. The first group of activists are sometimes referred to as equality feminists while the second group are termed maternal feminists, in recognition of their arguments that the values that made women good mothers and homemakers should be put to use to purify society. These were not terms that were used at the time however, and they did not represent hard and fast differences: many equality feminists, for example, also favoured numerous other social reforms.

The clearest example of the links between the desire to purify society and women's suffrage lies in the relationship between the Woman's Christian Temperance Union and the suffrage movement. The WCTU was, as its name suggests, a movement of Protestant church women intended to put an end to the drinking of alcoholic beverages. Its members associated alcohol with crime, poverty, child neglect, and family breakdown. While it encouraged people to take a pledge not to drink, it focused much of its effort on attempts to have governments ban the sale of alcohol. The first WCTU branch in Canada was founded in 1874.Within a decade it was a national organization dedicated to outlawing the manufacture and sale of alcohol.

Given the fact that its goals were political and its members were women, it is not surprising that from the outset it also campaigned for votes for women. In the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, most Canadian provinces responded to calls for prohibition through what was called the local option: municipalities could hold referenda on whether or not the liquor traded would be banned locally.

Dr. Amelia Yeomans played a prominent role in the early years of both the temperance and suffrage campaigns in Manitoba. Originally from Ontario, she went to Michigan to study medicine after her husband's death in 1878. Upon graduation, she moved to Manitoba and became active in the Manitoba branch of the WCTU. Like other WCTU organizations across Canada, the Manitoba WCTU had its own Franchise Department that campaigned for women's suffrage. Yeomans concluded that prohibition would not be enacted until women received the vote, but she was also concerned that too close a connection between the temperance and suffrage movements might drive away some potential suffrage supporters. For this reason, she founded the Manitoba Equal Suffrage Club in 1894.

Many of the other leading Manitoba suffragists of the early twentieth century came to the movement through the WCTU, including the writers E. Cora Hind and Nellie McClung. In 1900 victory appeared to be within their grasp. The legislature had adopted a prohibition bill, but before it could be put into effect, the premier resigned. The new premier, Rodmond Roblin decided to hold a province-wide referendum on the issue before putting the law into effect. Voters in that referendum rejected prohibition, a result that convinced many women that prohibition would not come until women were given the vote. The defeat also took some of the wind out of the suffrage movement. The Manitoba Equal Suffrage Club was less active as time went on. It was not until 1912, with the founding of the Political Equality League, that the Manitoba movement was revitalized. When it was, it retained its links to the temperance movement: for example, one of the PEL's honourary presidents was the Reverend D.S. Hamilton, who was also the president of the Manitoba Temperance League.

Digital Resources on Manitoba History

hide
show

LES FEMMES OBTIENNENT LE VOTE


DATES ET FAITS


1874
Fondation de la Woman's Christian Temperance Union en Ontario.

1887
Les femmes propriétaires peuvent voter aux élections municipales au Manitoba.

1890
Les femmes propriétaires peuvent voter aux élections des commissions scolaires au Manitoba.

1893
La Woman's Christian Temperance Union du Manitoba présente une pétition réclamant le suffrage féminin.

1894
Fondation du Manitoba Equal Suffrage Club.

1901
Un travailleur sur six au Canada est une femme.

13 février 1907
Le Manitoba révoque le droit des femmes de voter aux élections municipales.

28 janvier 1914
Mise en  scène du « Parlement des femmes » au théâtre Walker.

1915
La Political Equality League présente une pétition au gouvernement réclamant le suffrage féminin.

28 janvier 1916
Le Manitoba donne aux femmes le droit de voter aux élections provinciales.

24 mai 1918
Les femmes canadiennes obtiennent le droit de voter aux élections fédérales.

AUTRES RESSOURCES


Le Docteur Amelia Yoemans. Winnipeg : Culture, Patrimoine et Loisirs Manitoba, c1985.

Le Canada, une histoire populaire : épisode 11B : 1er ex. : la grande transformation (1896 à 1915), deuxième partie (vidéocassette).
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, c2001.

Le Droit de vote des femmes (vidéocassette) / Nicole Messier.
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, 1990.

Citoyennes? : femmes,  droit de vote et démocratie / Diane Lamoureux.
Montréal : Éditions du Remue-ménage, 1989.

L’incroyable histoire de la lutte que quelques-unes ont menée pour obtenir le droit de vote pour toutes /  Jocelyne Beaulieu.
Outremont, Québec : VLB, 1990.

CARTES


Cartes électorales du Manitoba de 1920

Manitoba 1926 [ organisations rurales]


POUR LES ÉDUCATEURS


Les femmes obtiennent le vote
Page 3 de 6

Tempérance

Dans la discussion du mouvement pour le suffrage du début du vingtième siècle, les historiens font souvent la distinction entre les féministes, qui réclamaient le vote parce qu'elles croyaient à l'égalité des sexes, et les réformatrices, qui pensaient que les femmes devaient avoir le vote parce que, selon elles, les femmes étaient plus susceptibles que les hommes d'appuyer les réformes sociales nécessaires. On soutient parfois que le mouvement pour le vote des femmes au Canada a été lancé par des féministes qui contestaient la division du travail et des responsabilités entre les sexes. Ce mouvement a ensuite été envahi et accaparé par celles qui voulaient renforcer les institutions sociales, y compris la famille, en donnant le vote aux femmes. On appelle quelquefois les militantes du premier groupe les féministes égalitaires alors que celles du deuxième groupe sont qualifiées de féministes maternelles, à cause de leur affirmation que les valeurs qui faisaient des femmes de bonnes mères et de bonnes ménagères devraient être utilisées pour purifier la société. Ces termes n'étaient toutefois pas employés à l'époque et ils ne décrivent pas des différences tranchées : de nombreuses féministes égalitaires, par exemple, étaient aussi favorables à plusieurs autres réformes sociales.

Le plus clair exemple des liens entre le désir de purifier la société et le suffrage des femmes est la relation entre la Women's Christian Temperance Union et le mouvement pour le suffrage. La WCTU était, comme son nom l'indique, un mouvement de femmes affiliées à l'Église protestante qui voulaient mettre fin à la consommation de boissons alcooliques. Ses membres associaient l'alcool à la criminalité, la pauvreté, la négligence des enfants et l'éclatement de la famille. Bien qu'elle ait encouragé les gens à prendre l'engagement de ne pas boire, la WCTU a concentré la plus grande partie de ses efforts sur ses démarches auprès des gouvernements pour qu'ils interdisent la vente d'alcool. La première section de la WCTU au Canada a été fondée en 1874. En dix ans, elle était devenue une organisation nationale vouée à rendre illégales la fabrication et la vente d'alcool.

Étant donné le fait que ses buts étaient politiques et ses membres des femmes, il n'est pas surprenant que dès le début, elle ait aussi fait campagne pour le vote des femmes. À la fin du dix-neuvième et au début du vingtième siècle, la plupart des provinces canadiennes ont répondu aux demandes de prohibition par ce qu'on appelait l'option locale : les municipalités pouvaient tenir un référendum pour décider si le commerce d'alcool allait être interdit localement ou non.

Le Dr Amelia Yeomans a joué un rôle de premier plan dans les premières années des campagnes pour la tempérance et pour le suffrage au Manitoba. Originaire de l'Ontario, elle était allée au Michigan étudier la médecine après la mort de son mari en 1878. Après avoir terminé ses études, elle est déménagée au Manitoba et est devenue active dans la section manitobaine de la WCTU. Comme les autres sections de la WCTU à travers le Canada, la WCTU du Manitoba avait son propre Franchise Department (département du droit de vote) qui faisait campagne pour le suffrage des femmes. Yeomans avait conclu que la prohibition ne serait pas promulguée tant que les femmes n'auraient pas le vote, mais elle craignait aussi qu'un lien trop étroit entre le mouvement pour la tempérance et le mouvement pour le suffrage ne rebute certains partisans potentiels du suffrage. C'est pour cette raison qu'elle a fondé le Manitoba Equal Suffrage Club en 1894.

Bon nombre des autres importantes suffragistes du début du vingtième siècle au Manitoba sont venues au mouvement par la WCTU, y compris les écrivaines E. Cora Hind et Nellie McClung. En 1900, la victoire semblait être à portée de main. L'assemblée législative avait adopté un projet de loi sur la prohibition, mais avant qu'il ne puisse être mis en vigueur, le premier ministre a démissionné. Le nouveau premier ministre, Rodmond Roblin, a décidé de tenir un référendum provincial sur la question avant de mettre la loi en vigueur. Les participants à ce référendum ont rejeté la prohibition, résultat qui a convaincu de nombreuses femmes qu'il n'y aurait pas de prohibition tant que les femmes n'auraient pas le droit de vote. Cette défaite a aussi donné un coup au mouvement pour le suffrage. L'activité du Manitoba Equal Suffrage Club a graduellement diminué. Ce n'est qu'en 1912, avec la fondation de la Political Equality League, que le mouvement a repris vie au Manitoba. Il a gardé son lien avec le mouvement pour la tempérance lors de sa revitalisation : par exemple, un des présidents honoraires de la PEL était le révérend D. S. Hamilton, qui était aussi président de la Manitoba Temperance League.

Ressources numériques sur l’histoire du Manitoba