hide
show

WOMEN WIN THE VOTE


DATES AND FACTS


1874
Woman's Christian Temperance Union founded in Ontario.

1887
Women property owners can vote in municipal elections in Manitoba.

1890
Women property owners can vote in school board elections in Manitoba.

1893
Manitoba's Woman's Christian Temperance Union presents a petition for female suffrage.

1894
Manitoba Equal Suffrage Club is founded.

1901
One in six Canadian workers is a woman.

February 13, 1907
Manitoba revokes women's municipal franchise.

January 28, 1914
The Women's Parliament is staged at the Walker Theatre.

1915
Political Equality League submits a petition to government for female suffrage.

January 28, 1916
Manitoba gives women the right to vote provincially.

May 24, 1918
Canadian women win the right to vote in federal elections.

OTHER RESOURCES


Liberation deferred? The ideas of the English-Canadian Suffragists by Carol Lee Bacchi.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1983

In times like these by Nellie L. McClung. Toronto: McLeod & Allen, c1915.

The woman suffrage movement in Canada by Catherine L. Cleverdon.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1974.

MAPS


Manitoba 1926 [Rural Organizations]

Manitoba electoral maps1920


FOR EDUCATORS


Women win the vote
Page 1 of 6

Women Win the Vote

In January 1914 Winnipeg writer and political activist Nellie McClung led a five-person delegation to meet with Manitoba premier Rodmond Roblin. On behalf of the Manitoba Political Equality League, McClung was calling on the premier to grant the right to vote to the province's women. The meeting turned into a verbal tussle: while Roblin claimed that the right to vote would breakup families and leave the raising of children to servants, McClung suggested that Roblin represented a corrupt political order that time was passing by. When the meeting ended, McClung told Roblin that she and her supporters would get him.

At the time Roblin was at the height of his political power. He had been premier for over a decade and could see no clouds on his political horizon. The staunchly Conservative Winnipeg Tribune suggested that Roblin could afford to treat McClung as little more than a nuisance. Later that winter, when the Liberals proposed in the legislature that women be granted the vote, Roblin's Conservatives easily defeated the motion. Roblin went on to beat the Liberals in that year's closely fought provincial election.

Just two years later, in January 1916, the Manitoba legislature gave unanimous approval to a bill that made Manitoba the first province in Canada to give women the right to vote. Roblin had been driven from government in disgrace, forced to resign in the face of allegations of kickbacks and corruption surrounding the construction of the Manitoba legislative building. The new Liberal premier, Tobias Norris, had been elected on an ambitious platform of political reform. He was committed not only to granting women the vote, but to banning alcohol, making education compulsory, establishing workers' compensation, allowing citizens to have more control over politicians through the use of referendums, and reforming the education system. This was a victory for a vital if at times intolerant political and social reform movement that thought that government action could create good citizens. The reformers believed that, as long as people could maintain control over politicians, government could purify society, restrict negative impulses such as drinking and gambling, and even encourage the development of a better society.

While a number of the reforms brought in by the Norris government, such as prohibition and binding referendums, were relatively short-lived, others were permanent, reflecting a new role for government in society. The women's suffrage campaign played a central role in the reform movement that ushered in these changes. Its leaders were often active in other campaigns, calling for prohibition, an end to political corruption, laws that would provide factory workers with safe and clean working conditions, and improved services for rural communities. Writers such as McClung and Lillian Thomas developed national reputations as social reformers. The suffrage movement, which had been founded and led by women from the outset, could trace it roots back to the 1890s in Manitoba. Its leaders cut their political teeth on the Woman's Christian Temperance Movement's campaigns to ban the liquor trade, through their activities in the women's section of the Manitoba Grain Growers' Association, and while volunteering in the missionary societies of the Protestant churches. Their case was strengthened with the outbreak of the First World War in 1914 as women were called upon to play a more active role in the paid economy. The fact that Manitoba was the first province to give women the vote was in many ways a tribute to the Political Equality League, which was founded in 1912. Its pamphlets, petitions, and public events succeeded in making suffrage a popular issue in a very short period of time.

The women's suffrage campaign was a movement with tensions: some suffragists of English ancestry were angered by the fact that they did not have the vote while men from Eastern Europe who had become citizens did. Other reforms that they championed, such as the end of bilingual education, reflected fears that a pure society could only flourish if English cultural values were protected. These middle-class women, and most active suffrage campaigners came from the middle class, believed that they would make wiser political choices than immigrants. Other suffragists argued that women should have the vote strictly on the basis of equality. In Manitoba, the pressures created by the First World War would bring these tensions to the fore. The battle for suffrage was won in Manitoba in 1916, but women reformers continued to play an ongoing role in the turbulent years that followed.

Digital Resources on Manitoba History

hide
show

LES FEMMES OBTIENNENT LE VOTE


DATES ET FAITS


1874
Fondation de la Woman's Christian Temperance Union en Ontario.

1887
Les femmes propriétaires peuvent voter aux élections municipales au Manitoba.

1890
Les femmes propriétaires peuvent voter aux élections des commissions scolaires au Manitoba.

1893
La Woman's Christian Temperance Union du Manitoba présente une pétition réclamant le suffrage féminin.

1894
Fondation du Manitoba Equal Suffrage Club.

1901
Un travailleur sur six au Canada est une femme.

13 février 1907
Le Manitoba révoque le droit des femmes de voter aux élections municipales.

28 janvier 1914
Mise en  scène du « Parlement des femmes » au théâtre Walker.

1915
La Political Equality League présente une pétition au gouvernement réclamant le suffrage féminin.

28 janvier 1916
Le Manitoba donne aux femmes le droit de voter aux élections provinciales.

24 mai 1918
Les femmes canadiennes obtiennent le droit de voter aux élections fédérales.

AUTRES RESSOURCES


Le Docteur Amelia Yoemans. Winnipeg : Culture, Patrimoine et Loisirs Manitoba, c1985.

Le Canada, une histoire populaire : épisode 11B : 1er ex. : la grande transformation (1896 à 1915), deuxième partie (vidéocassette).
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, c2001.

Le Droit de vote des femmes (vidéocassette) / Nicole Messier.
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, 1990.

Citoyennes? : femmes,  droit de vote et démocratie / Diane Lamoureux.
Montréal : Éditions du Remue-ménage, 1989.

L’incroyable histoire de la lutte que quelques-unes ont menée pour obtenir le droit de vote pour toutes /  Jocelyne Beaulieu.
Outremont, Québec : VLB, 1990.

CARTES


Cartes électorales du Manitoba de 1920

Manitoba 1926 [ organisations rurales]


POUR LES ÉDUCATEURS


Les femmes obtiennent le vote
Page 1 de 6

Les femmes obtiennent le vote

En janvier 1914, une délégation de cinq personnes menée par l'écrivaine et militante politique de Winnipeg Nellie McClung a rencontré le premier ministre du Manitoba, Rodmond Roblin. Au nom de la Political Equality League du Manitoba, McClung allait demander au premier ministre d'accorder le droit de vote aux femmes de la province. La rencontre a dégénéré en un affrontement verbal : à Roblin, qui soutenait que le droit de vote briserait les familles et laisserait la tâche d'élever les enfants aux domestiques, McClung a rétorqué qu'il représentait un ordre politique corrompu et dépassé. À la fin de la rencontre, McClung a déclaré à Roblin qu'elle et ses partisans finiraient par avoir sa peau.

À l'époque, Roblin était au sommet de son pouvoir politique. Il était premier ministre depuis plus de dix ans et ne pouvait voir aucun nuage à son horizon politique. L'archi-conservatrice Winnipeg Tribune déclarait que Roblin pouvait se permettre de traiter McClung comme rien de plus qu'une casse-pieds. Quand les libéraux ont proposé à l'assemblée législative plus tard cet hiver-là de donner le vote aux femmes, les conservateurs ont facilement rejeté la motion. Roblin a ensuite battu les libéraux à l'élection provinciale très serrée qui a été tenue plus tard la même année.

Juste deux ans plus tard, en janvier 1916, l'assemblée législative du Manitoba donnait son accord unanime à un projet de loi qui a fait du Manitoba la première province canadienne à accorder le droit de vote aux femmes. Roblin avait été chassé du gouvernement en disgrâce, forcé de démissionner face à des allégations de pots-de-vin et de corruption relatives à la construction du Palais législatif du Manitoba. Le nouveau premier ministre libéral, Tobias Norris, avait été élu grâce à une ambitieuse plateforme de réforme politique. Il voulait non seulement donner le vote aux femmes, mais aussi interdire l'alcool, rendre l'éducation obligatoire, établir l'indemnisation des accidents de travail, permettre aux citoyens d'avoir plus de contrôle sur les politiciens par l'entremise de référendums et réformer le système d'éducation. Sa victoire a été celle d'un mouvement de réforme politique et sociale vital quoique parfois intolérant, qui pensait que l'action du gouvernement pouvait créer de bons citoyens. Les réformistes croyaient que tant que le peuple pouvait exercer un contrôle sur les politiciens, le gouvernement pouvait purifier la société, restreindre les impulsions négatives telles que l'abus d'alcool et le jeu, et même encourager le développement d'une meilleure société.

Alors que certaines des réformes apportées par le gouvernement Norris, comme la prohibition et les référendums ayant force obligatoire, ont été de relativement courte durée, d'autres ont été permanentes, reflétant un nouveau rôle pour le gouvernement dans la société.

La campagne pour le suffrage des femmes a joué un rôle central dans le mouvement de réforme qui a amené ces changements. Ses dirigeantes étaient souvent actives dans d'autres campagnes, réclamant la prohibition, une fin à la corruption politique, des lois qui donneraient aux travailleurs des usines des conditions de travail sûres et hygiéniques et l'amélioration des services aux collectivités rurales. Des écrivaines comme McClung et Lillian Thomas se sont taillées des réputations nationales comme réformatrices sociales. Les racines du mouvement pour le suffrage, qui avait été fondé et était mené par des femmes depuis le début, remontaient aux années 1890 au Manitoba. Ses chefs s'étaient fait la main en politique avec les campagnes du mouvement de tempérance des femmes chrétiennes pour l'interdiction du commerce de l'alcool, les activités de la section féminine de la Manitoba Grain Growers' Association et le bénévolat au sein des sociétés missionnaires des Églises protestantes. Leur cause a été renforcée par le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale en 1914, durant laquelle les femmes ont été appelées à jouer un rôle plus actif dans l'économie rémunérée. Si le Manitoba a été la première province à donner le vote aux femmes, c'est dans une large mesure grâce à la Political Equality League, qui avait été fondée en 1912. Ses pamphlets, pétitions et manifestations publiques ont réussi à populariser la question du suffrage en très peu de temps.

La campagne pour le suffrage féminin était aussi un mouvement rempli de tensions : certaines suffragistes d'ascendance anglaise étaient fâchées de ne pas avoir le droit de vote alors que les hommes d'Europe de l'Est qui avaient pris la citoyenneté l'avaient. Certaines des autres réformes qu'elles préconisaient, telles que la fin de l'éducation bilingue, reflétaient la crainte qu'une société pure ne puisse prospérer que si les valeurs culturelles anglaises étaient protégées. Ces femmes de classe moyenne, et la plupart des femmes qui militaient activement pour le suffrage appartenaient à la classe moyenne, croyaient qu'elles feraient des choix politiques plus avisés que les immigrants. D'autres suffragistes disaient que les femmes devraient avoir le vote strictement pour des raisons d'égalité. Au Manitoba, les pressions engendrées par la Première Guerre mondiale allaient faire ressortir ces tensions. Bien que la lutte pour le suffrage ait été gagnée au Manitoba en 1916, les réformatrices ont continué de jouer un rôle constant dans les années turbulentes qui ont suivi.

Ressources numériques sur l’histoire du Manitoba