hide
show

WW I : THE WAR AT HOME


DATES AND FACTS


August 4, 1914
Britain is at war against Germany.

October 14 - November 22, 1914
First Battle of Ypres

April 22 - May 25, 1915
Second Battle of Ypres

July 1, 1916
Battle of the Somme begins.

April 9, 1917
Battle at Vimy Ridge

May 20, 1917
Conscription Bill is introduced

December 17, 1917
Robert Borden is re-elected as Prime Minister of Canada

November 11, 1918
Armistice day, the fighting stops at 11am.

OTHER RESOURCES


Canadian VC Recipients

The Harvests of war: the Prairie West, 1914-1918 by John Herd Thompson.

Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1978.

Loyalties in conflict: Ukrainians in Canada during the Great War. Edited by Frances Swyripa and John Herd Thompson.
Edmonton: Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies, 1983.

When your number's up: the Canadian soldier in the First World War by Desmond Morton.
Toronto: Random House of Canada, 1993.

MAPS


Battlegrounds of WWI


FOR EDUCATORS


World War I: the war at home
Page 3 of 6

The war and the end of bilingual education

The Laurier-Greenway Compromise had brought a temporary conclusion to the Manitoba Schools controversy in 1897. It allowed for education in French or any other language as long as there were a significant number of children in the school who spoke that language. The students were also supposed to be educated in English on the basis of what was termed the bilingual system. Greenway had included the right to education in any other language so he could not be accused of giving French special status. He had not however anticipated the dramatic wave of European immigration that washed over Manitoba in the late 1890s and early twentieth century. Manitoba schools soon found themselves obliged to provide education in German, Ukrainian, and Polish as well as in French and English. By 1915 there were 126 separate French bilingual schools. Furthermore, 61 school districts had German bilingual schools, and there were 111 Polish and Ukrainian bilingual schools. In total, 17,000 of the province’s 100,100 students attended bilingual schools. In addition, there were a number of teacher training schools (called normal schools) that trained French, (Ref, Ref2) Ukrainian and German teachers.

For a number of years critics of this system claimed that students in bilingual schools were not being well educated and were not being assimilated into Canadian life, which in their minds meant British culture. The outbreak of war further fuelled their opposition to the bilingual system: many were angered that the public school system was teaching in German and Ukrainian, the languages of two of the peoples with which Canada was at war. The fact that French Canada had not supported the war effort with the same enthusiasm as the rest of country served to intensify a long-simmering hostility to the use of French as the language of education in public schools. The war also heightened the expectation that schools would transform the children of immigrants into English-speaking Canadians who accepted British cultural values. One Manitoba teacher wrote a musical in which her students acted out Canada’s role in the war effort, while in another teacher’s militarized mathematics: each correct answer was equated with capturing an enemy prisoner of war. In St. Boniface (Ref1, Ref2) seminary students participated in debates about the morality of the war itself. The Orange Lodge also canvassed all the candidates in wartime provincial elections as to whether they favoured the bilingual system.

Winnipeg Free Press editor John Dafoe had launched a campaign against the bilingual schools as early as 1910. Over the next four years the paper carried over 60 articles and more than 100 editorials criticizing the system. Dafoe claimed that Conservative Premier Rodmond Roblin had given the East European immigrants control over the schools system in exchange for their votes. He even argued that Eastern Europeans were taking control of schools in rural districts and driving out English-speaking residents.

Roblin’s Conservatives not only defended the bilingual system, in 1912 they had amended the education act to allow for the students of Roman Catholic parents to be educated in separate classes in Winnipeg and Brandon. It should be noted that local leaders of the Roman Catholic church were far from happy with the Laurier-Greenway Compromise, but for different reasons. They argued, for example, that the half hour a day allowed for religious education was not enough to provide students with a proper moral instruction.

In a province where 100,000 of a total of 500,000 people spoke neither French or English, Liberal Party leader Tobias Norris concluded that the English was “threatened by the invasion of ‘foreign languages.’” In 1914 the Liberal Party came out in favour of compulsory English-speaking public education. One year after the Liberal victory in the 1915 election, the Norris government abolished the bilingual education system. For the first time education in Manitoba was compulsory for children between the ages of 5 and 14, although parents could send their children to private schools that had been approved by the Department of Education.

Liberal education minister R.S. Thornton justified the decision to do away with the bilingual system with the comment: “In this Dominion, we are building up, under the British flag, a new nationality. We come from many lands and cast in our lot and from these various factors there must evolve a new nationality which shall be simply Canadian and British.” Joseph Dumas, the MLA for St. Boniface said, “It is folly to believe that the French-speaking people of this province are going to abandon that which they regard as their sacred right.” Taras Ferley, the first Ukrainian-Canadian elected to the Manitoba Legislature, also defended the bilingual system. Archbishop Adelard Langevin was the leading advocate for bilingual education, speaking in favour educational rights for Ukrainians, Germans, and Poles as well Franco-Manitobans. The Ukrainian community rallied to defend the bilingual schools, drawing over a thousand people to one protest meeting. The Liberals’ large majority in the legislature, and the wartime concerns about the need for cultural unity, resulted in the government position carrying the day.

In response, delegates from French-speaking Catholic school boards met at St. Boniface College to establish the Association d’Éducation des Canadien français du Manitoba. The Association had the support of the Catholic leadership, but all communication with school boards in the formerly bilingual school districts was to come from the Association so that there would be no perception that the Church or clergy had initiated the activity.

Historians continue to debate the quality of the education that was provided in the bilingual schools of the day. Some point to Deputy Minister of Education Robert Fletcher’s comment that the education system was nearly out of hand as evidence of the system’s failure, while others argue that the Manitoba government’s 1916 investigation into bilingual education was not as critical of the system as the public was led to believe at the time. The latter group further argues that teachers and administrators within the system were aware of its shortcomings and had been working to address them.

Digital Resources on Manitoba History

hide
show

PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE : LA GUERRE CHEZ NOUS


DATES ET FAITS


4 août 1914
La Grande-Bretagne est en guerre contre l’Allemagne.

14 octobre – 22 novembre 1914
Première bataille d’Ypres.

22 avril – 25 mai 1915
Deuxième bataille d’Ypres.

1er juillet 1916
Début de la bataille de la Somme.

9 avril 1917
>Bataille de la crête de Vimy.

20 mai 1917
Dépôt du projet de loi sur la conscription.
17 décembre 1917  

Robert Borden est réélu premier ministre du Canada.

11 novembre 1918
Jour de l’armistice, les combats cessent à 11 h.

AUTRES RESSOURCES


Le Canada et la Grande Guerre de 1914-1918 :  la naissance d’une nation : trousse d’information (vidéocassette).
Ottawa : Affaires des Anciens combattants, c1997.

La Première Guerre mondiale : le rôle du Canada (vidéocassette)
Scénario, Cathy Miller. Coquitlam, C.-B. : Classroom Video, c2001.

Récipiendairés canadiens de la V.C.

Souvenirs de vaillance : la participation du Canada à la Première Guerre Mondiale.
Ottawa : Affaires des anciens combattants, 1982.

Le XXe siècle : perspectives historiques par Don Quinlan.
Montréal : Les Éditions de la Chenelière, c2004.

CARTES


Lieux de batailles de la Première Guerre mondiale.


POUR LES ÉDUCATEURS


La Premiere Guerre mondiale: la guerre chez nous
Page 3 de 6

La guerre et la fin de l'éducation bilingue

Le compromis Laurier-Greenway avait apporté une conclusion temporaire à la controverse des écoles du Manitoba en 1897. Il autorisait l'enseignement en français ou dans toute autre langue à condition qu'un nombre appréciable d'élèves dans l'école parlent cette langue. Les élèves devaient aussi être éduqués en anglais dans ce qu'on a appelé le système bilingue. Greenway avait inclus le droit à l'éducation dans toute autre langue pour qu'on ne puisse pas l'accuser de donner un statut spécial au français. Il n'avait toutefois pas prévu l'énorme vague d'immigration européenne qui allait déferler sur le Manitoba à la fin des années 1890 et au début du vingtième siècle. Les écoles du Manitoba se sont vite trouvées obligées d'offrir l'enseignement en allemand, en ukrainien et en polonais de même qu'en français et en anglais. En 1915, il y avait 126 écoles françaises bilingues séparées. En outre, 61 districts scolaires avaient des écoles allemandes bilingues et il y avait 111 écoles polonaises et ukrainiennes bilingues. Au total, 17 000 des 100 100 élèves de la province fréquentaient une école bilingue. Il y avait également des écoles de formation des enseignants (appelées écoles normales) qui formaient des enseignants français, (Ref1, Ref2) ukrainiens et allemands.

Les critiques de ce système soutenaient depuis des années que les élèves des écoles bilingues ne recevaient pas une bonne éducation et n'étaient pas assimilés dans la vie canadienne, ce qui dans l'esprit des critiques voulait dire la culture britannique. L'éclatement de la guerre a alimenté encore davantage leur opposition au système bilingue : bon nombre étaient fâchés que le système scolaire public enseigne en allemand et en ukrainien, langues de deux des peuples contre lesquels le Canada était en guerre. Le fait que le Canada français n'ait pas appuyé l'effort de guerre avec le même enthousiasme que le reste du pays a servi à intensifier une hostilité qui mijotait depuis longtemps contre l'usage du français comme langue d'enseignement dans les écoles publiques. On attendait des écoles qu'elles transforment les enfants des immigrants en Canadiens anglophones imprégnés des valeurs culturelles britanniques, attente que la guerre a amplifiée. Une enseignante manitobaine a écrit une comédie musicale qui mettait en scène le rôle du Canada dans l'effort de guerre, tandis qu'une autre a militarisé les mathématiques, chaque bonne réponse correspondant à la capture d'un prisonnier de guerre ennemi. À Saint-Boniface, (Ref1, Ref2) les élèves du séminaire participaient à des débats sur la moralité même de la guerre. La Orange Lodge, par ailleurs, a sondé tous les candidats aux élections provinciales tenues en temps de guerre pour savoir s'ils étaient favorables au système bilingue.

Le rédacteur en chef du Winnipeg Free Press, John Dafoe, avait entamé une campagne contre les écoles bilingues dès 1910. Au cours des quatre années suivantes, le journal a publié plus de 60 articles et 100 éditoriaux critiquant le système. Dafoe soutenait que le premier ministre conservateur Rodmond Roblin avait donné aux immigrants d'Europe de l'Est le contrôle du système scolaire en échange de leurs votes. Il prétendait même que les Européens de l'Est avaient mis la main sur les écoles dans les districts ruraux et en chassaient les habitants anglophones.

Les conservateurs de Roblin n'ont pas fait que défendre le système bilingue. En 1912, ils ont modifié la loi sur l'éducation pour permettre aux élèves dont les parents étaient catholiques d'être éduqués dans des classes séparées à Winnipeg et à Brandon. Il faut mentionner que les dirigeants locaux de l'Église catholique étaient loin d'être contents du compromis Laurier-Greenway, mais pour d'autres raisons. Ils disaient, par exemple, que la demi-heure par jour allouée à l'instruction religieuse n'était pas suffisante pour donner aux élèves une bonne éducation morale.

Dans une province où 100 000 des 500 000 habitants ne parlaient ni français ni anglais, le chef du Parti libéral Tobias Norris a conclu que l'anglais était « menacé par l'invasion des ‘langues étrangères'. » En 1914, le Parti libéral s'est déclaré en faveur de l'éducation publique anglaise obligatoire. Un an après la victoire libérale à l'élection de 1915, le gouvernement Norris a aboli le système d'éducation bilingue. Pour la première fois, l'éducation au Manitoba était obligatoire pour les enfants de 5 à 14 ans, mais les parents pouvaient envoyer leurs enfants aux écoles privées qui avaient été approuvées par le ministère de l'Éducation.

Le ministre libéral de l'Éducation, R. S. Thornton, a justifié la décision d'éliminer le système bilingue par le commentaire : « Dans ce Dominion, nous bâtissons, sous un drapeau britannique, une nouvelle nationalité. Nous venons de nombreux pays et apportons notre pierre à l'édifice et de ces divers facteurs une nouvelle nationalité doit se former qui sera simplement canadienne et britannique. » Joseph Dumas, député de Saint-Boniface, a déclaré : « C'est folie de croire que les francophones de cette province vont abandonner ce qu'ils considèrent comme un droit sacré. » Taras Ferley, premier Canadien ukrainien élu à l'assemblée législative manitobaine, a défendu le système bilingue lui aussi. L'archevêque Adélard Langevin a été le principal avocat de l'éducation bilingue, parlant en faveur des droits des Ukrainiens, des Allemands et des Polonais en matière d'éducation en plus de ceux des Franco-Manitobains. La communauté ukrainienne s'est ralliée pour défendre les écoles bilingues, attirant plus de mille personnes à une assemblée de protestation. Malgré tout, vu la vaste majorité libérale à l'assemblée législative et les inquiétudes suscitées par la guerre relativement au besoin d'unité culturelle, la position du gouvernement l'a facilement emporté.

En réponse, les délégués des commissions scolaires francophones catholiques se sont réunis au Collège de Saint-Boniface pour fonder l'Association d'éducation des Canadiens français du Manitoba . L'Association avait le soutien des autorités catholiques, mais toute communication avec les commissions scolaires dans les anciens districts scolaires bilingues devait venir de l'Association même pour éviter de donner l'impression que l'activité avait été proposée par l'Église ou le clergé. Les historiens continuent de débattre la qualité de l'éducation qui était offerte dans les écoles bilingues de l'époque. Alors que certains invoquent le commentaire du sous-ministre de l'Éducation, Robert Fletcher, selon qui le système d'éducation était presque hors de contrôle, comme preuve de l'échec du système, d'autres affirment que l'enquête sur l'éducation bilingue faite par le gouvernement du Manitoba en 1916 n'était pas aussi critique du système qu'on l'a fait croire au public à l'époque. Ils ajoutent que les enseignants et administrateurs qui travaillaient dans le système étaient conscients de ses défauts et avaient commencé à prendre des mesures pour y remédier.

Ressources numériques sur l’histoire du Manitoba