hide
show

STRIKE 1919!


DATES AND FACTS


May 15, 1919
By noon, 20,000 people are on strike.

June 9, 1919
Special police officers are recruited by Committee of One Thousand.

June 10, 1919
Specials clash with strikers at Portage and Main.

June 16, 1919
Strike leaders arrested.

June 21, 1919
Bloody Saturday marks the defeat of the strike.

OTHER RESOURCES


Confrontation at Winnipeg: labour, industrial relations, and the General Strike by David Jay Bercuson.
Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1974.

The workers' revolt in Canada, 1917-1925 edited by Craig Heron.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998.

MAPS


Chataway's Map of Winnipeg New Edition highlighting Strike events.


FOR EDUCATORS


Strike 1919!
Page 5 of 6

The Committee of One Thousand

Shortly after the start of the General Strike, the leaders of the Winnipeg business community established the Citizens’ Committee of One Thousand. (Ref1, Ref2) It had far fewer than a thousand members, but it had access to the corridors of power both in Manitoba and Ottawa. Among its leading figures were such prominent businessmen and lawyers as A.J. Andrews, J.C. Coyne, Travis Sweatman, and Isaac Pitblado. It organized volunteers to replace strikers (Ref1, Ref2) and worked to ensure that the strike ended in a defeat for the unions. In its own newspaper, The Citizen, it attacked the strikers and their supporters as Bolshevik revolutionaries and implied that the strike was largely the work of Eastern European immigrants. (Ref1, Ref2) These charges were echoed by the leaders of Catholic Church in St. Boniface.

Shortly after the strike started, two leading members of the Committee met with federal cabinet ministers and told them the strike was a revolution in the making. The government was convinced, and A.J. Andrews, a lawyer and Committee member, was appointed as the government’s special agent in Winnipeg. Worried that an attempt to end the strike by force could end disastrously, Andrews believed the government had to proceed cautiously. He was, however, intent on crushing the strike: to that end he advised the government to pass a series of laws that would make it possible to quickly arrest and deport the strike leaders without trial. One of the Committee’s first moves was to force the city council to fire the entire Winnipeg police force for refusing to take an oath promising not to participate in general strikes. The dismissed officers were replaced by 1,800 special police officers recruited by the Committee. On the next day, June 10, the Specials, as they were called, clashed with strikers at the corner of Portage and Main in the first major violent confrontation (Ref1, Ref2) of the strike.

Andrews supported the employers’ decision not to negotiate, but he realized that he had to bring the strike to speedy end since workers in other cities across the country were showing support for the Winnipeg strikes. General strikes in support of the Winnipeg strike broke out in Brandon, Calgary, Edmonton, Saskatoon, Regina, Vancouver and Victoria, and in towns as small as Dauphin and Minnedosa. The big fear was that the rail workers would join the strike, bringing the country to a standstill.

Andrews’ opportunity came when the owners of the metal shops made a small concession, announcing that they would negotiate with individual craft unions, but not the metal trades council as whole. This was a proposal that the workers would not accept, since they had gone out on strike to asset their right to choose who would represent them. When the unions turned the proposal down the Mounted Police took action. On the night of June 16, ten strike leaders were arrested in their homes and taken to Stony Mountain Penitentiary. Union offices across the city were raided and their contents seized. Andrews acted quickly, and on his own: federal officials in Ottawa were surprised to hear him announce that the strikers were to be prosecuted for sedition.

Returned soldiers had held parades both in opposition (Ref1, Ref2, Ref3) to, and in support (Ref1, Ref2) of, the strike. On June 21 the veterans who backed the strike gathered in downtown Winnipeg to protest the arrests. When the mayor banned their demonstration, the Mounted Police were called out. Charging into the crowd on horseback, the police fired on the strikers—one man died instantly, another a few days later from gunshot wounds. The special police that had been recruited by the Committee of One Thousand then moved in on the demonstrators: by the end of the day at least thirty of demonstrators were seriously injured. (Ref1, Ref2, Ref3, Ref4)

The arrests and the attack on the parade, which the unions referred to as Bloody Saturday, marked the defeat of the strike. The workers returned to work without contracts. Hundreds, possibly thousands of workers were fired for their participation in the strike. Others only got their jobs back if they signed agreements promising not to join unions in the future.

Digital Resources on Manitoba History

hide
show

GRÈVE 1919!


DATES ET FAITS


15 mai 1919
À midi, 20 000 personnes sont en grève.

9 juin 1919
Le Comité de mille recrute des agents de police spéciaux.

10 juin 1919
Affrontement entre les spéciaux et les grévistes à Portage et Main.

16 juin 1919
Arrestation des meneurs de la grève.

21 juin 1919
Le samedi sanglant marque la défaite de la grève.

AUTRES RESSOURCES


Le Canada, une histoire populaire : épisode 12B : 1er ex. : l`épreuve du feu (1915 à 1929), deuxième partie (vidéocassette).
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, c2001.

Les grèves au Canada : causes et conséquences / Robert Lacroix.
Montréal : Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 1987.

1919, une année de grèves (diapositives)
David J. Bercuson. Ottawa : Musée national de l’Homme : Musée national du Canada : Office national du Film du Canada, 1974.

CARTES


Carte Chataway de Winnipeg, nouvelle édition. 1919.


POUR LES ÉDUCATEURS


La grève de 1919
Page 5 de 6

Le Committee of One Thousand

Peu après le déclenchement de la grève générale, les dirigeants de la communauté des affaires de Winnipeg ont établi le Citizens’ Committee of One Thousand (Ref1, Ref2) (comité de mille citoyens). Il avait beaucoup moins que mille membres, mais il avait accès aux corridors du pouvoir tant au Manitoba qu’à Ottawa. On comptait parmi ses figures principales des hommes d’affaires et avocats en vue tels que A. J. Andrews, J. C. Coyne, Travis Sweatman et Isaac Pitblado. Il a organisé des volontaires pour remplacer les grévistes (Ref1, Ref2) et travaillé pour que la grève se solde par une défaite pour les syndicats. Dans son propre journal, The Citizen, il a attaqué les syndicats et leurs partisans en les qualifiant de révolutionnaires bolcheviques et laissé entendre que la grève était en grande partie le travail d’immigrants d’Europe de l’Est. (Ref1, Ref2) Ces accusations ont été reprises par les dirigeants de l’Église catholique à Saint-Boniface.

Peu après le début de la grève, deux membres importants du comité ont rencontré des ministres du cabinet fédéral et leur ont dit que la grève était une révolution en gestation. Le gouvernement a été convaincu et A. J. Andrews, un avocat et membre du comité, a été nommé agent spécial du gouvernement à Winnipeg. Craignant qu’une tentative de mettre fin à la grève par la force ne se termine de façon désastreuse, Andrews croyait que le gouvernement devait procéder prudemment. Il voulait toutefois absolument écraser la grève; il a donc conseillé au gouvernement d’adopter une série de lois qui permettraient d’arrêter rapidement les meneurs de grève et de les déporter sans procès. Un des premiers gestes du comité a été de forcer le conseil municipal à congédier l’ensemble du service de police de Winnipeg pour avoir refusé de jurer, sous serment, qu’il ne participerait pas à des grèves générales. Les agents congédiés ont été remplacés par 1 800 agents de police spéciaux recrutés par le comité. Le lendemain, le 10 juin, les spéciaux, comme on les appelait, se sont battus avec des grévistes au coin de Portage et Main dans le premier important affrontement violent (Ref1, Ref2) de la grève.

Andrews appuyait la décision des employeurs de ne pas négocier, mais il savait qu’il devait amener rapidement la grève à sa conclusion car les travailleurs d’autres villes à travers le pays manifestaient de l’appui pour la grève de Winnipeg. Des grèves générales à l’appui de la grève de Winnipeg avaient éclaté à Brandon, Calgary, Edmonton, Saskatoon, Regina, Vancouver et Victoria, et dans des villes aussi petites que Dauphin et Minnedosa. La grande crainte était que les cheminots ne se joignent à la grève, paralysant le pays.

L’occasion s’est présentée pour Andrews quand les propriétaires des ateliers de métallurgie ont fait une petite concession, annonçant qu’ils négocieraient avec les syndicats de métier individuels, mais pas avec l’ensemble du conseil des métiers de la métallurgie. C’était une proposition que les travailleurs ne pouvaient accepter, puisqu’ils avaient fait grève pour affirmer leur droit de choisir qui les représenterait. Quand les syndicats ont rejeté la proposition, la police à cheval est entrée en action. La nuit du 16 juin, dix dirigeants de la grève ont été arrêtés à leur domicile et amenés au pénitencier de Stony Mountain. On a fait des descentes et saisi le contenu des bureaux de syndicats partout dans la ville. Andrews a agi rapidement et de lui-même; les dirigeants fédéraux à Ottawa ont été surpris de l’entendre annoncer que les grévistes allaient être traduits en justice pour sédition.

Les soldats revenus de guerre avaient organisé des défilés tant contre (Ref1, Ref2, Ref3) que pour (Ref1, Ref2) la grève. Le 21 juin, les anciens combattants qui appuyaient la grève se sont rassemblés au centre-ville de Winnipeg pour protester contre les arrestations. Quand le maire a interdit leur manifestation, on a appelé la police à cheval. Chargeant à cheval dans la foule, les agents de police ont tiré sur les grévistes; un homme est mort instantanément, un autre quelques jours plus tard de blessures par balle. La police spéciale qui avait été recrutée par le Committee of One Thousand a ensuite avancé sur les manifestants et à la fin de la journée, au moins trente des manifestants avaient été grièvement blessés. (Ref1, Ref2, Ref3, Ref4)

Les arrestations et l’attaque contre le défilé, que les syndicats ont appelé le « samedi sanglant », ont marqué la défaite de la grève. Les grévistes sont retournés au travail sans contrats. Des centaines, peut-être des milliers de travailleurs, ont été congédiés pour avoir participé à la grève. D’autres n’ont pu ravoir leur emploi que s’ils signaient une entente promettant de ne pas adhérer à un syndicat à l’avenir.

Ressources numériques sur l’histoire du Manitoba