hide
show

STRIKE 1919!


DATES AND FACTS


May 15, 1919
By noon, 20,000 people are on strike.

June 9, 1919
Special police officers are recruited by Committee of One Thousand.

June 10, 1919
Specials clash with strikers at Portage and Main.

June 16, 1919
Strike leaders arrested.

June 21, 1919
Bloody Saturday marks the defeat of the strike.

OTHER RESOURCES


Confrontation at Winnipeg: labour, industrial relations, and the General Strike by David Jay Bercuson.
Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1974.

The workers' revolt in Canada, 1917-1925 edited by Craig Heron.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998.

MAPS


Chataway's Map of Winnipeg New Edition highlighting Strike events.


FOR EDUCATORS


Strike 1919!
Page 4 of 6

The start of the strike

In the spring of 1919 the newly formed Winnipeg Building Trades Council, which represented the city’s building trade unions, opened negotiations with their employer the Winnipeg Builders Exchange. The Building Trades Council was an example of the way in which Winnipeg unions were working to overcome the barriers created by craft unionism by bringing workers from different craft unions together in a single bargaining committee. The workers were looking for a pay increase that would allow them to regain what they had lost to wartime inflation. The builders said that without an increase in construction they could not afford to increase wages. The employers then adopted a take-it-or-leave-it approach, saying that if the unions did not accept their pay offer, negotiations were over. In the face of this ultimatum, the construction workers walked off the job on May 1. It was the first step in a series of developments that would bring the city to a stand still.

A day after the building trades workers went on strike, the city’s metal trade workers walked off the job. They had been defeated in strikes in 1906, 1917 and 1918. In April 19191, the metal trades council, which represented the different unions in the metal trades, presented their contract proposals to the owners of the metal shops. While some of the smaller shops were willing to negotiate, the larger shops never bothered to respond to the unions. The builders and the metal shop owners had taken provocative positions—it was not simply that they were taking a hard line in negotiations—they were refusing to negotiate. The Winnipeg Trades and Labor Council took this as an affront to the entire labour movement. At its May 6 meeting the council decided to organize a vote on whether or not to hold a civic-wide general strike in support of the construction workers and the metal shop workers.

When they met a week later it was quite clear that unionized workers were prepared to support them. Over 11,000 workers had voted in favour of a general strike, with only 500 in opposition. The strike was set to start at 11 a.m. on May 15.

By noon of that day the city was at a standstill. Ninety-four unions were on strike, and over 20,000 people were off the job. In the end, it is estimated that nearly 30,000 people participated in the strike, half of whom did not even belong to unions. They were also very loyal—again and again employer threats to fire workers who did not return to the job met with limited or no success. The Winnipeg Trades and Labor Council established a General Strike Committee and a smaller Central Strike Committee: while radicals such as R.B. Russell were on the Central Strike Committee, it was dominated by moderates, including J.L. McBride of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, labour council president James Winning, typographer Harry Veitch—whose union had not even endorsed the strike, and labour council secretary Ernest Robinson.

The Central Strike Committee soon found itself having to determine which services were going to be offered to the public. As it did not wish to be accused of attempting to starve the city, the Committee continued delivery of milk and bread. When the bakeries and dairies worried that people might attack their delivery wagons if they thought they were being operated in opposition to the strike, the strikers, after meeting with representatives of city hall and the dairies, agreed to issue signs that read “Permitted by Authority of Strike Committee,” which were to be displayed on delivery wagons. The measure made sure that the milk and bread got through, but also raised questions about who was in charge. The strikers always maintained that they were not trying to take over the government of the city, but by its very nature a general strike challenges a community’s existing power relations.

The Toronto Globe estimated that 2,000 of the strikers were women. Indeed, the strike got off to an early start on May 15, 1919, when 500 female telephone operators walked off the job. Before they left work they pulled the switches, leaving much of the city without phone service. Aside from the telephone operators, retail clerk, garment workers, waitresses, bookbinders, and confectionery workers, almost all of whom were women, voted in favour of the strike. In fact, the bakery and confectionery workers went on strike the day before the strike began to protest the fact that their employer would not negotiate with their union.

Women also played an important role in making sure that businesses that were struck stayed closed. They showed up at the rail yards to stop people from going to work, and on occasion they attacked trucks that were making deliveries for businesses that were being struck. Under the leadership of Helen Armstrong, the Women’s Labor League played a central role in organizing women’s activities throughout the strike. Armstrong established a dining hall where meals were free for women strikers, while men were expected to pay or make a donation. During the strike Armstrong continued to organize working women into unions and was arrested several times.

Throughout the strike, one of the strike committee’s main concerns was ensuring that the strikers did not provide the government with an excuse (Ref1, Ref2) to use force to end the strike. For the most part, they urged people to stay off the streets or attend the large open air meetings that were held at Victoria Park near the Red River. There, speakers from the unions and the Labor Church, which had been established by William Ivens when he lost his position with the Methodist Church, spoke to the strikers on issues of the day. While the strike leaders kept their troops in line, the business community took the initiative.

Digital Resources on Manitoba History

hide
show

GRÈVE 1919!


DATES ET FAITS


15 mai 1919
À midi, 20 000 personnes sont en grève.

9 juin 1919
Le Comité de mille recrute des agents de police spéciaux.

10 juin 1919
Affrontement entre les spéciaux et les grévistes à Portage et Main.

16 juin 1919
Arrestation des meneurs de la grève.

21 juin 1919
Le samedi sanglant marque la défaite de la grève.

AUTRES RESSOURCES


Le Canada, une histoire populaire : épisode 12B : 1er ex. : l`épreuve du feu (1915 à 1929), deuxième partie (vidéocassette).
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, c2001.

Les grèves au Canada : causes et conséquences / Robert Lacroix.
Montréal : Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 1987.

1919, une année de grèves (diapositives)
David J. Bercuson. Ottawa : Musée national de l’Homme : Musée national du Canada : Office national du Film du Canada, 1974.

CARTES


Carte Chataway de Winnipeg, nouvelle édition. 1919.


POUR LES ÉDUCATEURS


La grève de 1919
Page 4 de 6

Le début de la grève

Au printemps de 1919, le Winnipeg Building Trades Council, qui venait d’être formé et représentait les syndicats des métiers du bâtiment de la ville, a entamé des négociations avec leur employeur, le Winnipeg Builders Exchange. Ce conseil des métiers du bâtiment était un exemple de la façon dont les syndicats de Winnipeg cherchaient à surmonter les obstacles posés par le syndicalisme de métier en regroupant les travailleurs de différents syndicats de métier en un seul comité de négociation. Les travailleurs voulaient une augmentation de salaire qui leur permettrait de regagner ce qu’ils avaient perdu à l’inflation du temps de guerre. L’association des entrepreneurs en construction a toutefois dit que sans augmentation de l’activité de construction, ils n’avaient pas les moyens d’augmenter les salaires. Les employeurs ont ensuite adopté une attitude tout ou rien, déclarant que si les syndicats n’acceptaient pas leur offre salariale, les négociations étaient terminées. Devant cet ultimatum, les travailleurs de la construction ont débrayé le 1er mai. Ce fut le premier d’une série de développements qui allaient paralyser la ville.

Le lendemain du jour où les travailleurs des métiers du bâtiment ont commencé leur grève, les travailleurs de la métallurgie de la ville ont débrayé. Ils avaient perdu des grèves en 1906, 1917 et 1918. En avril 1919, le Metal Trades Council, qui représentait les différents syndicats des métiers de la métallurgie, avait présenté ses propositions de contrats aux propriétaires des ateliers de métallurgie. Alors que certains des plus petits ateliers étaient prêts à négocier, les grands ateliers ne se sont même pas donné la peine de répondre aux syndicats. Les entrepreneurs en construction et les propriétaires d’ateliers de métallurgie avaient pris des positions provocatrices; ils ne faisaient pas simplement preuve d’intransigeance dans les négociations, ils refusaient carrément de négocier. Le Winnipeg Trades and Labor Council y a vu un affront à l’ensemble du mouvement ouvrier. À sa réunion du 6 mai, le conseil a décidé d’organiser un vote sur la proposition de déclencher une grève générale dans toute la ville à l’appui des travailleurs du bâtiment et de la métallurgie.

Quand ils se sont réunis une semaine plus tard, il était très clair que les travailleurs syndiqués étaient prêts à les appuyer. Plus de 11 000 travailleurs avaient voté en faveur d’une grève générale et seulement 500 contre. La grève a été fixée pour le 15 mai à 11 h.

À midi ce jour-là, la ville était paralysée. Quatre-vingt-quatorze syndicats étaient en grève et plus de 20 000 personnes avaient débrayé. On estime qu’au total près de 30 000 personnes ont participé à la grève, dont la moitié n’appartenaient même pas à un syndicat. Les travailleurs ont aussi fait preuve d’une grande loyauté; l’un après l’autre, les employeurs qui menaçaient de congédier les travailleurs qui ne revenaient pas au travail n’ont eu qu’un succès limité, voire nul. Le Winnipeg Trades and Labor Council a formé un comité de grève général et un plus petit comité de grève central : bien que des radicaux comme R. B. Russell aient fait partie du comité de grève central, il était dominé par des modérés, y compris J. L. McBride de la Fraternité internationale des ouvriers en électricité, James Winning, qui était président du conseil du travail, Harry Veitch, un typographe dont le syndicat n’avait même pas appuyé la grève, et Ernest Robinson, le secrétaire du conseil du travail.

Le comité de grève central s’est vite trouvé appelé à déterminer quels services continueraient d’être fournis au public. Ne voulant pas être accusés de tenter d’affamer la ville, les meneurs de la grève ont continué les livraisons de lait et de pain continuent. Quand les boulangeries et laiteries ont dit craindre que les gens n’attaquent leurs voitures de livraison s’ils pensaient qu’elles circulaient en opposition à la grève, les grévistes, après avoir rencontré les représentants de la Ville et des laiteries, ont accepté de distribuer des panneaux portant la mention « Permitted by Authority of Strike Committee » (autorisé par le comité de grève) qui ont été placardés sur les voitures de livraison. La mesure a assuré la livraison du lait et du pain, mais a aussi soulevé la question de savoir qui exactement menait la barque. Les grévistes ont toujours affirmé qu’ils n’essayaient pas de s’emparer du gouvernement de la ville, mais une grève générale, par sa nature même, remet en question les rapports de force existants dans une collectivité.

Le Toronto Globe a estimé que 2 000 des grévistes étaient des femmes. D’ailleurs, la grève avait commencé tôt le 15 mai 1919 par le débrayage de 500 femmes téléphonistes. Avant de partir, elles avaient débranché les commutateurs, laissant une bonne partie de la ville sans service de téléphone. Outre les téléphonistes, les commis de magasins de détail, les travailleurs de l’industrie du vêtement, les serveurs, les relieurs et les travailleurs de la confiserie, qui étaient presque tous des femmes, avaient voté en faveur de la grève. De fait, les travailleurs des boulangeries et confiseries ont débrayé la veille du jour où la grève générale a commencé pour protester contre le fait que leur employeur refusait de négocier avec leur syndicat.

Les femmes ont aussi joué un rôle important en veillant à ce que les entreprises visées par la grève restent fermées. Elles sont allées aux gares de triage pour empêcher les gens d’aller travailler et ont parfois attaqué les camions qui faisaient des livraisons pour les entreprises qui étaient visées par la grève. Sous la direction d’Helen Armstrong, la Women’s Labor League a joué un rôle central dans l’organisation des activités des femmes pendant toute la durée de la grève. Armstrong a établi un réfectoire où les repas étaient gratuits pour les femmes grévistes, tandis qu’on s’attendait à ce que les hommes paient ou fassent un don. Pendant la grève, Armstrong a continué d’organiser les femmes en syndicats et a été arrêtée plusieurs fois.

Tout le long de la grève, une des principales préoccupations du comité de grève a été de veiller à ce que les grévistes ne donnent pas au gouvernement une excuse (Ref1, Ref2) pour employer la force pour mettre fin à la grève. De façon générale, ils ont encouragé les gens à ne pas descendre dans la rue et à assister aux grandes assemblées en plein air qui étaient tenues au parc Victoria près de la rivière Rouge. Là, des orateurs des syndicats et de la Labor Church (Église du travail), qui avait été fondée par William Ivens quand il a perdu son poste dans l’Église méthodiste, parlaient aux grévistes des sujets du jour. Pendant que les meneurs de la grève tenaient leurs troupes en main, le milieu des affaires a pris l’initiative.

Ressources numériques sur l’histoire du Manitoba