hide
show

STRIKE 1919!


DATES AND FACTS


May 15, 1919
By noon, 20,000 people are on strike.

June 9, 1919
Special police officers are recruited by Committee of One Thousand.

June 10, 1919
Specials clash with strikers at Portage and Main.

June 16, 1919
Strike leaders arrested.

June 21, 1919
Bloody Saturday marks the defeat of the strike.

OTHER RESOURCES


Confrontation at Winnipeg: labour, industrial relations, and the General Strike by David Jay Bercuson.
Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1974.

The workers' revolt in Canada, 1917-1925 edited by Craig Heron.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998.

MAPS


Chataway's Map of Winnipeg New Edition highlighting Strike events.


FOR EDUCATORS


Strike 1919!
Page 3 of 6

The One Big Union

The One Big Union did not organize or lead the 1919 Winnipeg General Strike, yet its history is closely intertwined with that of the General Strike. Both grew out of the growing radicalization of western Canadian workers and reflected their interest in new ways of organizing unions and society. Radical ideas were receiving a warm welcome from many trade unionists during the closing years of the First World War. Workers had turned out in large numbers to hear local union leaders speak glowingly of the 1917 Russian Revolution and to criticize the federal government for its recent decision to ban socialist newspapers and political parties. At one such meeting a speaker predicted a tremendous social conflict once the soldiers returned from overseas: “They will say ‘We have fought for this country, and by God, we are going to own it.’” At a meeting of the Winnipeg labour council one delegate said, “In Winnipeg tonight we are fighting with ideas, but soon we will be fighting with rifles.”

In the fall of 1918 Western Canadian unionists placed a number of radical resolutions before the delegates at that year’s Trades and Labor Congress Convention. In particular, they wanted the Congress to abandon craft unionism for industrial unionism, but their criticism extended to such difficult questions as conscription, censorship and the war effort. Every one of the westerners’ proposals was defeated. Before returning home, the western delegates agreed to hold a special western Canadian labour conference in 1919 to discuss ways that they could have more impact on the TLC.

By the time the delegates from western Canadian unions arrived in Calgary for this meeting in the spring of 1919 they were no longer interested in fixing the TLC. Instead, they believed the time had come to create a new industrial union that would use the general strike as a central weapon. The new union was to be called the One Big Union — as its name suggested it would attempt to organize all workers into a single labour body. Unlike the TLC it would not divide them up by skills, nor would it concentrate solely on unskilled labour.

Their plan was to hold a vote in the summer of 1919 in which union members could determine whether they would join the OBU or stick with their craft unions. One vote would be held in western Canada and one in the East. If the easterners turned down the idea, the westerners would strike out on their own. The delegates also called on the government to bring in the six-hour workday. They argued the shorter workday would create more jobs for soldiers when they left the army. To back this campaign for a shortened workday, they threatened to launch a nation-wide general strike on June 1.

By moving to create the One Big Union, western Canadian unionists had created many enemies for themselves: business, government and the craft unions all felt threatened by the OBU. Their main source of strength was the growing conviction among western Canadian workers that they had to pursue their common interests through united unions and united political action. The organizers’ plans for the union would become entangled in the Winnipeg General Strike, which started in mid-May 1919. The fledgling OBU would never be able to recover from the defeat of the Winnipeg strike.

Digital Resources on Manitoba History

hide
show

GRÈVE 1919!


DATES ET FAITS


15 mai 1919
À midi, 20 000 personnes sont en grève.

9 juin 1919
Le Comité de mille recrute des agents de police spéciaux.

10 juin 1919
Affrontement entre les spéciaux et les grévistes à Portage et Main.

16 juin 1919
Arrestation des meneurs de la grève.

21 juin 1919
Le samedi sanglant marque la défaite de la grève.

AUTRES RESSOURCES


Le Canada, une histoire populaire : épisode 12B : 1er ex. : l`épreuve du feu (1915 à 1929), deuxième partie (vidéocassette).
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, c2001.

Les grèves au Canada : causes et conséquences / Robert Lacroix.
Montréal : Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 1987.

1919, une année de grèves (diapositives)
David J. Bercuson. Ottawa : Musée national de l’Homme : Musée national du Canada : Office national du Film du Canada, 1974.

CARTES


Carte Chataway de Winnipeg, nouvelle édition. 1919.


POUR LES ÉDUCATEURS


La grève de 1919
Page 3 de 6

La One Big Union

La One Big Union n’a pas organisé ou mené la grève générale de Winnipeg de 1919, mais son histoire y est étroitement mêlée. L’une comme l’autre sont nées de la radicalisation croissante des travailleurs de l’Ouest canadien et reflétaient leur intérêt pour de nouvelles façons d’organiser les syndicats et la société. Les idées radicales trouvaient preneurs chez de nombreux syndicalistes pendant les dernières années de la Première Guerre mondiale. Les travailleurs étaient venus en grand nombre entendre les chefs syndicaux locaux vanter la révolution russe de 1917 et critiquer la récente décision du gouvernement fédéral d’interdire les journaux et partis politiques socialistes. À une de ces assemblées, un orateur a prédit un profond conflit social lorsque les soldats reviendraient d’outre-mer. « Ils vont dire, ‘Nous nous sommes battus pour ce pays et, nom de Dieu, nous allons le posséder’. » À une assemblée du conseil du travail de Winnipeg, un délégué a dit : « À Winnipeg ce soir, nous nous battons avec des idées, mais bientôt nous nous battrons avec des fusils. »

À l’automne de 1918, les syndicalistes de l’Ouest canadien ont présenté plusieurs résolutions radicales aux délégués au congrès annuel du Congrès des métiers et du travail. Ils voulaient surtout que le Congrès abandonne le syndicalisme de métier en faveur du syndicalisme d’industrie, mais leurs critiques s’étendaient à des questions aussi difficiles que la conscription, la censure et l’effort de guerre. Chacune des propositions des délégués de l’Ouest a été rejetée. Avant de retourner chez eux, les délégués de l’Ouest ont convenu de tenir une conférence syndicale spéciale de l’Ouest canadien en 1919 pour discuter des moyens à prendre pour avoir plus d’influence sur le CMTC.

Quand les délégués des syndicats de l’Ouest canadien sont arrivés à Calgary pour cette réunion au printemps de 1919, ils n’étaient plus intéressés à réparer le CMTC. Ils estimaient plutôt que le temps était venu de fonder un nouveau syndicat industriel qui utiliserait la grève générale comme arme centrale. Le nouveau syndicat s’appellerait The One Big Union; comme son nom l’indique, il essaierait d’organiser tous les travailleurs en un seul organisme ouvrier. Contrairement au CMTC, il ne les répartirait pas selon leurs aptitudes et ne se concentrerait pas non plus seulement sur les travailleurs non spécialisés.

Leur plan était d’organiser un vote pour l’été de 1919 lors duquel les membres des différents syndicats détermineraient s’ils adhéreraient à la OBU ou resteraient dans leur syndicat de métier. Il y aurait un vote dans l’Ouest canadien et un autre dans l’Est. Si les habitants de l’Est rejetaient l’idée, les habitants de l’Ouest iraient de l’avant seuls. Les délégués demandaient aussi au gouvernement d’instaurer la journée de travail de six heures. Leur argument était qu’un jour de travail plus court créerait plus d’emplois pour les soldats qui quittaient l’armée. Pour appuyer cette campagne pour une journée de travail plus courte, ils ont menacé de déclencher une grève générale nationale le 1er juin.

Les syndicalistes de l’Ouest canadien s’étaient faits de nombreux ennemis en agissant ainsi pour former la One Big Union, à savoir les entreprises, le gouvernement et les syndicats de métier, qui se sentaient tous menacés par la OBU. Leur principale source de force était la conviction croissante des travailleurs de l’Ouest canadien qu’ils devaient poursuivre leurs intérêts communs au moyen de syndicats unis et d’une action politique concertée. Les plans faits par les organisateurs en vue de ce syndicat allaient s’enchevêtrer dans la grève générale de Winnipeg, qui a commencé à la mi-mai 1919. La OBU, encore en voie de formation, n’allait jamais se remettre de la défaite de la grève de Winnipeg.

Ressources numériques sur l’histoire du Manitoba