hide
show

MANITOBA SCHOOLS QUESTION


DATES AND FACTS


1867
British North America Act establishes Canada.

May 12, 1870
Manitoba becomes Canada's fifth province.

July 11, 1888
Thomas Greenway and the Liberals win the provincial election.

March 31, 1890
Manitoba School Act is passed in the Legislature.

June 23, 1896
Laurier wins the federal election

November 16, 1896
Laurier - Greenway Compromise is reached

OTHER RESOURCES


Priests and politicians: Manitoba schools and the election of 1896 by Paul Crunican.
Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1974.

The Manitoba School Question: majority rule or minority rights? Edited by Lovell Clark.
Toronto: Copp Clark, 1968.

MAPS


Map of part of the Province of Manitoba. Protestant and Roman Catholic School Districts c1890


FOR EDUCATORS


The Manitoba School Questions: 1890 to 1897
Page 6 of 6

The Laurier-Greenway Compromise

Liberal leader Wilfrid Laurier had always argued that a solution to the Manitoba Schools Question had to take into account the Manitoba government’s right to determine its own educational system. This right was limited by the federal government’s ability to pass remedial legislation to protect religious minorities and Laurier wanted a negotiated rather than an imposed settlement.

Within a year of being elected as Prime Minister in 1896, Laurier had succeeded in negotiating a compromise agreement with the Manitoba government that took the political spotlight off the Manitoba School Question.

Under this compromise (Ref1, Ref2) the Manitoba government agreed to the following provisions:

Roman Catholic teachers were to be employed where there were more than 40 Roman Catholic children in an urban school and 10 in a country school. When it was requested by ten families or more, religious instruction would be provided from 3:30 to 4:00. The instruction would be by a minister of the faith of the families making the request and other children were not required to attend. When ten or more students in any school spoke French (or any language other than English) the teaching was to be in French (or such other language) and English on what was termed the bilingual system. (This bilingual system was not described in the compromise.)

Greenway was able to describe these as concessions to individuals not churches and to point out that there was no special treatment for French.

The first question to be asked about the compromise is why the Manitoba government was willing to compromise in 1897 when it was so unwilling in 1895? Many of the answers are political. The Liberal government of Thomas Greenway was quite pleased to create difficulty for a federal Conservative government. Indeed several members of the Manitoba Liberal government hoped to move on to federal politics if the Liberals won the 1896 election: several of them played prominent roles in Laurier’s government.

The second point is that Laurier compromised far more than Greenway. Laurier could have passed legislation that completely restored the rights of denominational schools: instead denominational schools, either Protestant or Roman Catholic, got absolutely nothing out of the compromise. Manitoba was to continue to have a single public school system, and while there was the opportunity for religious education after regular school hours, this would not take the same form as the integration of religion into education that would take place in a denominational school. Finally, while there was provision for education in French, French had no special status but was equal to another language other than English.

Not surprisingly the Roman Catholic Church in Manitoba rejected the compromise. (Ref2, Ref3) St. Boniface Archbishop Adélard Langevin said that Franco-Manitobans, the pioneers of the country, had no “more than the last arrivals; we whose rights are guaranteed by the constitution, are placed on the same footing as those who came from Ireland or the depths of Russia, we are not better apportioned than the Chinese and the Japanese.” Catholics also noted that under the new system Catholic children might end up being taught by Protestant teachers, but it would be very unlikely for a Protestant student to have a Catholic teacher. To keep up enrolment in the Catholic schools, Manitoba church leaders also increased their recruiting efforts amongst European Catholics. In the end, Pope Leo XIII intervened, saying that while the compromise was inadequate, Catholics were to accept it and continue to work for a restoration of their rights.

As history was to reveal, the compromise was not only inadequate from the Catholic perspective, it was not a permanent solution. Less than 20 years later another provincial Liberal government was to strip away the language rights that been provided in the Laurier-Greenway compromise.

Digital Resources on Manitoba History

hide
show

LA QUESTION DES ÉCOLES DU MANITOBA


DATES ET FAITS


1867
L’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique établit le Canada.

12 mai 1870
Le Manitoba devient la cinquième province du Canada.

11 juillet 1888
Thomas Greenway et les libéraux gagnent l’élection provinciale.

31 mars 1890 
L’Assemblée législative adopte la loi sur les écoles.

23 juin 1896
Laurier gagne l’élection fédérale.

16 novembre 1896
Le compromis Laurier-Greenway est conclu.

AUTRES RESSOURCES


La question des écoles du Manitoba – un nouvel éclairage, dans Extrait de la Revue d’histoire de l’Amérique française, vol. 33, no 1, juin 1979.

En face de la persécution scolaire au Manitoba par J. Ad. Sabourin.
Saint-Boniface : L’Auteur, 1922.

Le Canada, une histoire populaire : épisode 11A : 1er ex. : la grande transformation (1896 à 1915), première partie (vidéocassette).
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, c2001.

Le Canada, l’Empire britannique et la conscription (vidéocassette).
Downsview, Ontario : McIntyre Educational Media, c1981.

CARTES


Carte montrant la distribution des écoles protestantes et catholiques au Manitoba dans les années 1890.


POUR LES ÉDUCATEURS


La question des ecoles du Manitoba: 1890 to 1897
Page 6 de 6

Le compromis Laurier-Greenway

Le chef libéral Wilfrid Laurier avait toujours soutenu qu'une solution à la question des écoles du Manitoba devait prendre en compte le droit du gouvernement du Manitoba de déterminer son propre système d'éducation. Bien que ce droit ait été limité par la capacité du gouvernement fédéral d'adopter des lois réparatrices pour protéger les minorités religieuses, Laurier voulait un règlement négocié plutôt qu'imposé.

Moins d'un an après son élection comme premier ministre en 1896, Laurier avait réussi à négocier une entente compromis avec le gouvernement du Manitoba qui a détourné les projecteurs politiques de la question des écoles du Manitoba.

Dans ce compromis, (Ref1, Ref2) le gouvernement du Manitoba a accepté les dispositions suivantes :

Greenway a pu présenter ces concessions comme étant des concessions à des personnes et non à des Églises et souligner qu'il n'y avait pas de traitement spécial pour le français.

La première question à poser sur ce compromis est pourquoi le gouvernement du Manitoba était prêt à faire un compromis en 1897 alors qu'il s'y refusait tellement en 1895? Bon nombre des réponses sont politiques. Le gouvernement libéral de Thomas Greenway était très content de faire des difficultés à un gouvernement fédéral conservateur. De fait, plusieurs membres du gouvernement libéral du Manitoba espéraient se lancer en politique fédérale si les libéraux gagnaient l'élection de 1896 : plusieurs d'entre eux ont joué un rôle de premier plan dans le gouvernement de Laurier.

La deuxième raison est que Laurier a donné beaucoup plus que Greenway. Laurier aurait pu promulguer une loi qui aurait complètement rétabli les droits des écoles confessionnelles : au lieu, les écoles confessionnelles, tant protestantes que catholiques, n'ont absolument rien gagné dans ce compromis. Le Manitoba allait continuer d'avoir un seul système scolaire public et même s'il était possible d'offrir une instruction religieuse après les heures normales d'école, cette instruction ne serait pas l'intégration de la religion à l'éducation qui aurait pris place dans une école confessionnelle. Finalement, bien qu'on ait prévu l'enseignement en français, le français n'avait pas de statut spécial mais était égal à n'importe quelle autre langue autre que l'anglais.

L'Église catholique du Manitoba, ce qui n'est pas surprenant, a rejeté le compromis. (Ref1, Ref2) L'archevêque de Saint-Boniface, Adélard Langevin, a déclaré que les Franco-Manitobains, les pionniers du pays, n'avaient pas « plus que les derniers arrivés; nous dont les droits sont garantis par la constitution, sommes placés sur le même pied que ceux qui sont venus d'Irlande ou du fond de la Russie, nous ne sommes pas mieux traités que des Chinois ou des Japonais. » Les catholiques ont également fait remarquer que dans le nouveau système, les enfants catholiques pourraient se retrouver avec des enseignants protestants, mais qu'il était très peu probable qu'un élève protestant ait un enseignant catholique. Pour maintenir les inscriptions dans les écoles catholiques, les dirigeants de l'Église au Manitoba ont aussi intensifié leurs efforts de recrutement parmi les catholiques européens. À la fin, le pape Léon XIII est intervenu, disant que bien que le compromis soit inadéquat, les catholiques devaient l'accepter et continuer de travailler au rétablissement de leurs droits.

Comme l'histoire allait le révéler, non seulement le compromis était-il inadéquat du point de vue des catholiques, il n'a pas non plus été une solution permanente. Moins de 20 ans plus tard, un autre gouvernement libéral provincial allait supprimer les droits linguistiques que prévoyait le compromis Laurier-Greenway.

Ressources numériques sur l’histoire du Manitoba