hide
show

IMMIGRATION AND SETTLEMENT


DATES AND FACTS


1870
12,000 settlers live in Red River settlement.
Population of Winnipeg is 100.

1871
Manitoba and Saulteaux and Swampy Cree bands sign Treaty Number 1.

1872
Dominion Land Act ensures each homesteader 160 acres of land.

1878
First exportation of Manitoba grain.

1881
Population of Manitoba is 66,000.

1890
16 million bushels of wheat is exported.

1891
Population of Manitoba is 150,000.

1901
Population of Manitoba is 255,000.

1911
Population of Manitoba is 450,000.
Population of Winnipeg is 142,000.

OTHER RESOURCES


Homesteader; a prairie boyhood recalled by James M. Minifie.
Toronto: Macmillan of Canada, 1972.

Peasants in the promised land: Canada and the Ukrainians, 1891-1914 by Jaroslav Petryshyn with L. Dzubak
Toronto : J. Lorimer, 1985.

The Prairie West: historical readings edited by R. Douglas Francis and Howard Palmer.
Edmonton: Pica Pica Press, c1985.

Winnipeg: a social history of urban growth, 1874-1914by Alan F. J. Artibise.
Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1975.

Bounty and benevolence: a history of Saskatchewan treaties by Arthur J. Ray, Jim Miller and Frank J. Tough.
Montreal : McGill-Queen's University Press, 2000.

MAPS


Map of the Province of Manitoba and Part of the District of Kewatin and North West Territory Showing the Townships & Settlements. 1876

Map of Manitoba. 1897

Province of Manitoba, Settlement in 1870

Province of Manitoba, Settlement in 1891

Province of Manitoba, Settlement in 1901

Province of Manitoba, Settlement in 1911

Province of Manitoba, Settlement in 1921


FOR EDUCATORS


Immigration and Settlement: 1870-1919
Page 4 of 6

The first wave of settlement

In 1870s different Canadians harboured different visions for the new province of Manitoba. The Métis hoped it would remain their homeland, a place where they and their children could continue to farm along the banks of the Red and Assiniboine rivers and their tributaries. Alexandre-Antonin Taché, the Roman Catholic Bishop of St. Boniface and federal politician George-Etienne Cartier, hoped that Manitoba might become the country's second French-speaking province, ensuring that Quebec was not isolated in Canada. And tens of thousands of young men and women in Ontario saw it as an agricultural frontier, a golden opportunity to leave the stony fields of Ontario and build a new life for themselves. The province that they sought to build would be English- speaking, Protestant, and based on a strong concept of individual as opposed to community rights. It was their vision that was to dominate.

By 1886 there had been a dramatic shift in the population of Manitoba. In 16 years it had jumped from 12,000 to 109,000. The Métis and English-speaking country born, who had been the vast majority in 1870, accounted for only 7 per cent of the population. Where the Roman Catholic proportion of the population had been 50 percent, it was now 12 percent. Seventy per cent of the population had been born in Canada and 18 per cent in the United Kingdom. French was distinctly a minority language: during the province's first decade its French-speaking population grew by only 52 per cent while the English-speaking portion grew by 687 per cent. By 1891 French-speakers accounted for only 7.3 per cent of the population.

The province's chief attraction was free land. Under the Dominion Land Act of 1872 homesteaders could get 160 acres of land for free as long as they improved the land, grew crops and lived on it for three years. Their only cost for the land was a $10 registration fee. But breaking the heavy clay soil, building a house in a land without forests, and getting in a crop were hard work. Oxen pulled the ploughs, seeding was done by hand, and homes were often built of sod. Until the railway came through even getting to the Prairies could prove to be an arduous journey involving a mixture steamer, railway through the United States, stagecoach, wagon, cart and foot. The land may have been free, but only six of every ten homesteaders was able to stay on the land long enough to claim their 160 acres. Despite this, farms and towns began to cover the postage stamp province. As the Canadian Pacific Railway spread westward, it created a row of towns and villages and Brandon, the province's second largest city.

The Ontarians often came as self-organized groups settling towns, particularly in the province's southwest. Since they belonged to a variety of Protestant faiths, they tended to downplay the role of religion in education: a development that would lead to significant conflict in the coming years. Ontarians were not the only ones to come west. In the 1870s over 6,000 Mennonites came to Manitoba from Russia. The federal government paid their way to Canada, allowed them to create villages away from their land and promised that, in keeping with their religious beliefs, they would not have to serve in the Canadian military. In 1873 a volcano covered much of the farmland in Iceland with lava. By 1876 over a thousand Icelanders had settle on the shores of Lake Winnipeg.

There were also French-speaking settlers from Québec. Bishop Taché organized a French Colonization Society with the specific goal of recruiting French-speaking immigrants. By 1901, the province's French-speaking population was 16,000, up 10,000 from 1871. From 1876 to1885 4,800 French-Canadians who had originally moved to the northern United States came from the New England states and created ten new settlements in rural Manitoba. In an effort to bolster the size of the French-speaking community, efforts were also made to recruit immigrants from France and Belgium. (Ref1, Ref2, Ref3)

But the numbers of immigrants from Québec (Ref1, Ref2, Ref3) could not keep up with the flow from Ontario. The people of Quebec had been subject to the same pressures as the young people of Ontario: most of the good farmland had been taken up in both provinces and the cities could not absorb all the people being forced off the land. The young people of Quebec were not afraid of venturing into the unknown; close to 400,000 of them moved to the United States between 1870 and 1900. Had they gone to Manitoba instead, as Taché and Cartier had wished, Canadian history may have been much different.

Historians have long debated why migrants from Québec chose to go to the United States rather than Manitoba. The United States had its attractions: it was closer, it was possible to develop small French-speaking communities there, and if it was a foreign country, at least it was not part of the British Empire that had once conquered Quebec.

Secondly, up until 1870 many leading figures in Québec society had discouraged emigration to both the United States and the West. Instead, they said, young people should stick to their home province: if they had no land they should settle the Ottawa Valley on the Québec's western border. Taché undermined his own efforts by being overly selective in who should be encouraged to come to Manitoba. Because he did not want migrants to fail "and return to Québec with negative stories" Taché discouraged potential immigrants who did not have what he thought was enough money.

Finally, many Quebecers would have concluded that they would not get a friendly reception in Manitoba. They pointed to the treatment of the Métis, the government's refusal to grant Louis Riel a full amnesty after 1870, and the undisguised hostility that many Protestants in Manitoba exhibited towards the Roman Catholic Church as signs that Québec was the only home to the French Canadian. Manitoba's evolution from a province with an equal number of English- and French- speaking citizens into a predominantly English-speaking province would in later years thrust the province onto the national stage and place strains on the bonds of national unity.

Digital Resources on Manitoba History

hide
show

IMMIGRATION ET PEUPLEMENT


DATES ET FAITS


1870
12 000 colons vivent à la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge.
La population de Winnipeg est de 100 personnes..

1871
Le Manitoba et les bandes saulteaux et cris des marais signent le traité n° 1.

1872
L’Acte concernant les terres de la Puissance garantit 160 acres de terre à chaque homesteader.

1878
Première exportation de céréales manitobaines.

1881
La population du Manitoba est de 66 000 personnes.

1890
Exportation de 16 millions de boisseaux de blé.

1891
La population du Manitoba est de 150 000 personnes.

1901
La population du Manitoba est de 255 000 personnes.

1911
La population du Manitoba est de 450 000 personnes.
La population de Winnipeg est de 142 000 personnes.

AUTRES RESSOURCES


Le Canada : la poussée vers l’Ouest par Michael W. Cranny.
Montréal : Éditions de la Chenelière, c2002.

Nos histoires du Canada, module 6 : Le peuplement des prairies (1873-1914) (vidéocassette).
Groupe d’évaluation des programmes sociaux de l’Université Queen’s, c1995.

Le Canada, une histoire populaire : épisode 6B : 1er ex. : la route de l’Ouest, deuxième partie (vidéocassette).
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, c2001. .

Le Canada, une histoire populaire : épisode 10A : 1er ex. : la conquête de l’Ouest (1873 à 1896), première partie (vidéocassette).
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, c2001.

Le Canada, une histoire populaire : épisode 10B : 1er ex. : la conquête de l’Ouest (1873 à 1896), deuxième partie (vidéocassette).
Montréal : Société Radio-Canada, c2001.

CARTES


Carte de la province du Manitoba et d’une partie du District de Kewatin et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest montrant les townships et établissements. 1876

Carte du Manitoba publiée par autorité du gouvernement provincial. 1897

Province du Manitoba, Le peuplement en 1870

Province du Manitoba, Le peuplement en 1891

Province du Manitoba, Le peuplement en 1901

Province du Manitoba, Le peuplement en 1911

Province du Manitoba, Le peuplement en 1921


POUR LES ÉDUCATEURS


Immigration et peuplement : 1870-1919
Page 4 de 6

La première vague de peuplement

Dans les années 1870, différents Canadiens avaient différentes visions de la nouvelle province du Manitoba. Les Métis espéraient qu'elle demeurerait leur patrie, un endroit où leurs enfants et eux pourraient continuer de faire de l'agriculture le long des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine et de leurs tributaires. Alexandre-Antonin Taché, l'archevêque catholique de Saint-Boniface, et le politicien fédéral George-Étienne Cartier espéraient que le Manitoba deviendrait la deuxième province francophone du pays, pour que le Québec ne soit pas isolé au Canada. Et des dizaines de milliers de jeunes hommes et jeunes femmes de l'Ontario la voyaient comme un nouveau territoire agricole inexploité, une chance en or de quitter les champs rocailleux de l'Ontario et de se faire une nouvelle vie. La province qu'ils voulaient bâtir serait anglophone, protestante et fondée sur une forte conception des droits individuels plutôt que des droits collectifs. C'est leur vision qui allait l'emporter.

En 1886, la population du Manitoba avait changé de façon frappante. En 16 ans, elle était passée de 12 000 à 109 000 personnes. Les Métis et les anglophones country born, qui formaient une vaste majorité en 1870, ne représentaient plus que 7 pour cent de la population. Alors que la proportion catholique de la population avait été de 50 pour cent, elle était maintenant de 12 pour cent. Soixante-dix pour cent de la population était née au Canada et 18 pour cent au Royaume-Uni. Le français était une langue distinctement minoritaire : pendant la première décennie de la province, sa population francophone n'avait augmenté que de 52 pour cent tandis que le segment anglophone avait grossi de 687 pour cent. En 1891, les francophones ne constituaient que 7,3 pour cent de la population.

L'attrait principal de la province était une terre gratuite. Conformément à l'Acte concernant les terres de la Puissance de 1872, un colon ou « homesteader » pouvait obtenir 160 acres de terre gratuitement tant qu'il améliorait la terre, la cultivait et y vivait pendant trois ans. Son seul coût était un droit d'enregistrement de 10 $. Mais il fallait travailler d'arrache-pied pour labourer l'épaisse terre glaise, construire une maison dans un pays sans forêts et obtenir une récolte. Les charrues étaient tirées par des bÅ“ufs, les semences se faisaient à la main et les maisons étaient souvent construites de mottes de gazon. Avant l'arrivée du chemin de fer, même se rendre dans la Prairie pouvait être un voyage ardu combinant bateau à vapeur, train à travers les États-Unis, diligence, chariot, charrette et marche. La terre avait beau être gratuite, seuls six sur dix homesteaders ont réussi à s'accrocher assez longtemps pour avoir le titre de leurs 160 acres de terre. Malgré tout, fermes et villes ont commencé à couvrir la province timbre-poste. Dans son avancée vers l'ouest, le chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique a créé une rangée de villes et de villages, et Brandon, la deuxième plus grande ville de la province.

Les Ontariens arrivaient souvent en groupes auto-organisés qui établissaient des villes, surtout dans le Sud-Ouest de la province. Comme ils appartenaient à diverses fois protestantes, ils avaient tendance à minimiser le rôle de la religion dans l'éducation, ce qui devait susciter d'importants conflits dans les années à venir.

Les Ontariens n'ont pas été les seuls à venir dans l'Ouest. Dans les années 1870, plus de 6 000 mennonites sont venus au Manitoba de Russie. Le gouvernement fédéral a payé leur voyage au Canada, leur a permis de fonder des villages à l'écart de leurs terres et leur a promis que, conformément à leurs convictions religieuses, ils n'auraient pas à servir dans l'armée canadienne. En 1873, un volcan a recouvert une grande partie des terres agricoles d'Islande de lave. En 1876, plus de mille Islandais s'étaient installés sur les rives du lac Winnipeg.

Il y a aussi eu des colons francophones du Québec. L'évêque Taché avait organisé une Société de colonisation française dans le but précis de recruter des immigrants francophones. En 1901, la population francophone de la province était de 16 000 personnes, 10 000 de plus qu'en 1871. Entre 1876 et 1885, 4 800 Canadiens français qui avaient d'abord émigré dans le Nord des États-Unis sont venus des États de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et ont fondé dix nouveaux établissements dans la campagne manitobaine. Afin d'accroître la taille de la communauté francophone, on s'est aussi efforcé de recruter des immigrants de France et de Belgique. (Ref1, Ref2, Ref3)

Mais le nombre d'immigrants venant du Québec (Ref1, Ref2, Ref3) n'a pu se maintenir au rythme de celui de l'Ontario. Les habitants du Québec subissaient les mêmes pressions que les jeunes gens de l'Ontario : dans les deux provinces, la plupart des bonnes terres agricoles étaient déjà prises et les villes ne pouvaient pas absorber tous les gens qui étaient forcés de quitter la terre. Et les jeunes du Québec n'avaient pas peur de s'aventurer dans l'inconnu; près de 400 000 d'entre eux ont émigré aux États-Unis entre 1870 et 1900. S'ils étaient venus au Manitoba au lieu, comme le voulaient Taché et Cartier, l'histoire canadienne aurait été bien différente.

Les historiens ont longtemps débattu les raisons pour lesquelles les migrants du Québec ont choisi d'aller aux États-Unis plutôt qu'au Manitoba. Les États-Unis avaient leurs attraits : c'était plus près, il était possible d'y former de petites communautés francophones, et si c'était un pays étranger, au moins il ne faisait pas partie de l'Empire britannique qui avait autrefois conquis le Québec.

En deuxième lieu, jusqu'à 1870, de nombreux personnages en vue de la société québécoise avaient découragé l'émigration autant aux États-Unis que dans l'Ouest. Les jeunes devraient plutôt demeurer dans leur province natale, disaient-ils : s'ils n'avaient pas de terres, ils devraient s'installer dans la vallée de l'Outaouais à la frontière ouest du Québec. Taché a miné ses propres efforts en étant trop exigeant dans son choix de ceux qui devraient être encouragés à venir au Manitoba. Parce qu'il ne voulait pas que les migrants échouent, et retournent au Québec avec des histoires défavorables, Taché a découragé des immigrants potentiels qui n'avaient pas la somme d'argent qu'il estimait suffisante.

Finalement, de nombreux Québécois ont dû conclure qu'ils ne seraient pas chaleureusement accueillis au Manitoba. Ils ont invoqué le traitement des Métis, le refus du gouvernement d'accorder une amnistie complète à Louis Riel après 1870 et l'hostilité non déguisée que de nombreux protestants du Manitoba manifestaient envers l'Église catholique comme autant de signes que le Québec était le seul foyer des Canadiens français. Cette évolution du Manitoba, qui s'est transformé d'une province comptant un nombre égal de citoyens anglophones et francophones en une province majoritairement anglophone, allait plus tard pousser la province sur le devant de la scène nationale et mettre à l'épreuve les liens de l'unité nationale.

Ressources numériques sur l’histoire du Manitoba